In a bid to ensure secure and high performance hosting environment, We decided to Upgrade all our MYSQL instances to Latest  Version of Maria DB 10.3 The Upgrade process was performed 2nd June 2019. As long as you have a well written CMS,Source Codes and Application, you have nothing to worry about, however here are some Upgraded changes you might want to take note of as it may have some effect on loosely  written Source Code/Applications. Upgrading took 2 Steps, first from Mysql 5.6 to Mysql 5.7 then from 5.7 to MariaDB 10.3

Upgrade From 5.6 to 5.7

Severity Message
Critical MySQL enables "strict mode" by default as of version 5.7. Strict mode controls how MySQL handles invalid or missing values in data-change statements such as INSERT or UPDATE. Applications not built with strict mode enabled may cause undesired behavior; please verify applications using MySQL are compatible before upgrading. More information about strict mode is available here .
Normal Although in-place upgrades are generally safe, you should always perform a full database backup before you begin the upgrade process.
Normal Please note that downgrades to previous versions are unsupported. After you upgrade your system to a newer version, it may be impossible to switch back.

 

Upgrade from 5.7 to MariaDB 10.3

Severity Message
Critical In MariaDB® 10.3, the mysqldump client includes logic for the mysql.transaction_registry table. You cannot use the mysqldump client from an earlier MariaDB release on MariaDB 10.3 and later. For more information about how to upgrade to MariaDB 10.3, read the documentation .
Critical MariaDB enables "strict mode" by default as of version 10.2. Strict mode controls how MariaDB and MySQL handle invalid or missing values in data-change statements such as INSERT or UPDATE. Applications not built with strict mode enabled may cause undesired behavior; please verify applications using MariaDB are compatible before upgrading. More information about strict mode is available here .
Normal The selected MariaDB version (10.3) is more than one generation newer than the currently installed version. The upgrade process will iterate over each intervening version to ensure tables are upgraded appropriately.
Normal Although in-place upgrades are generally safe, you should always perform a full database backup before you begin the upgrade process.
Normal Please note that downgrades to previous versions are unsupported. After you upgrade your system to a newer version, it may be impossible to switch back.
   

While we have ensured best practices in ensuring the upgrade was smooth, you should check out your website/application to ensure these above effects does not apply to you.  If you have any questions, require further assistance/information, please be sure to open  a support ticket and we will be glad to help you out.

PS: Join CloudHost Affiliates today and Earn every day when you tell Strangers, Friends and Families to use CloudHost learn more here



Sunday, June 2, 2019







« Back